"In the Beginning, all America was Virginia."
William Byrd II
Next event
Featured Promotion

A reassessment of Robert E. Lee and Ulysses S. Grant, who have come to symbolize the two nations that fought the Civil War.

Grant and Lee
The History Crisis in America: Myth & Reality by C.F. Bryan Jr. Banner Lecture, book launch & signing July 9 @ noon t.co/zfrTcQ0MLY

Board of trustees


The VHS welcomes the following new members of the board of trustees for 2015: Herbert A. Claiborne III of Richmond, Richard Cullen of Richmond, Landon Hilliard of Charlottesville, and Pamela Kiecker Royall of Richmond. In addition, Conrad M. Hall of Norfolk begins his term as regional vice chairman.


E. Claiborne Robins, Jr., Richmond

Vice Chairman
John R. Nelson, Richmond

Honorary Vice Chairmen
H. Furlong Baldwin, Cheriton
J. Stewart Bryan III, Richmond
Brenton S. Halsey, Richmond
Grady W. Powell, Petersburg
Anne R. Worrell, Charlottesville

Regional Vice Chairman
Conrad M. Hall, Norfolk

President and Chief Executive Officer
Paul A. Levengood

Richard S. V. Heiman

Board of Trustees
George F. Albright, Jr., Arlington
Thomas N. Allen, Richmond
Harry F. Byrd III, Berryville
Charles L. Cabell, Richmond
Herbert A. Claiborne III, Richmond
Richard Cullen, Richmond
Cordel L. Faulk, Charlottesville
William H. Fralin, Jr., Roanoke
George C. Freeman III, Richmond
Susan S. Goode, Norfolk
Gary M. Gore, Richmond
Nancy H. Gottwald, Richmond
Landon Hilliard, Charlottesville
Anna Logan Lawson, Daleville
Josiah P. Rowe III, Fredericksburg
Pamela Kiecker Royall, Richmond
Thomas G. Snead, Jr., Richmond
Carole M. Weinstein, Richmond
J. Harvie Wilkinson III, Charlottesville
William C. Wooldridge, Norfolk